I Don’t Know What I’d Do Without It…Music

I’m up super late tonight knowing that I have to be up in a few hours…Welp! lol
In honor of Michael Jackson’s birthday, I decided to watch one of the many documentaries they have on my hero through Netflix. There is so many different documentaries out that I only watch the reputable ones. I think this has to be one of the BEST documentaries out about him because his best friend David Gest produced it. It runs for almost 3 hours but it’s so good. It’s called “Michael Jackson: The Life of An Icon”. You have to check it out.

So as I was watching the documentary, it reminded me of how much music has always been at the forefront of my life. Besides God and my family, music comes next. It has been the biggest influence in most all of the decisions I’ve made in my life and why I am where I am as I type this.
Besides it running in my family, Michael, Whitney, and that Debarge album with “All This Love” and “I Like It” lol..are the reasons I sing. My mother used to make me sing in front of her friends when I was 4-5 yrs old to get me used to being in front of people. I also sang solos in church all the time.

I used to go to her rehearsals and watch her rehearse with her bands. It’s amazing how everything comes full circle. I used to watch her and my aunt get ready for their shows and sit on a stool next to them while they would put on all their show clothes and makeup in the mirror in AWE of both of them.

mom3Aunt4

I remember watching them in the side wings of the stage or in the front row during a show and just see stars. “I want to be just like them when I grow up.” I used to say. Before ever gracing a stage or touching a real mic (besides using broomsticks and brushes for mics), God already showed me at a very early age what I was truly put here to do. I am so grateful for that because some people are full grown adults and still have no idea what they were put here to do.

Okay it’s about to get real cheesy right now lol but it’s truly how I feel. I believe music is the color for the world. Like adding color to a black & white picture, it just makes everything better. It’s the universal language. It transcends age, race, and gender. It can change joy into sadness and sadness into joy. It influences generations. It even can influence what we choose to wear, how we talk, or how we wear our hair.

Music has a healing power. There have been times when I’m feeling down or having a difficult time in my life and there might be certain songs or albums that I listen to that helped me get through it. Or I might write my own songs for my own therapy. I always find therapy in getting on the mic on stage and putting everything into my performance.

I can go on and on.

Music saves lives. I couldn’t imagine life without it. I wouldn’t trade this gift God has given me for anything in the world.

Like I said previously, all the moves that I’ve ever made in my life have had something to do with my deep passion for music.
I have a total of 5 tattoos and all of them represent my love for music. Even the greek organization I decided to recharter and join in college is based on music, Sigma Alpha Iota International Music Fraternity For Women http://www.sai-national.org. In order to join you had to be a music major or minor and be a very active participant in the music department. I was the President for 2 years for the Delta Psi Chapter at Lincoln University. I’ve met some amazing women musicians through my organization. Special shout out to my loves, my Soroses, Monique”Foxx Starstrukk”Hines and Jen”Teresa Jenee”Sanders!!

So when I say everything, EVERYTHING in my life has been connected to music someway, somehow.

Here I am today doing what I love to do. My home, the stage.
band5

Everything is coming into full circle. I’ve become exactly who I set out to be when I decided at 3-4 yrs old watching my mother and aunt that I wanted to be just like them. I have so much more to accomplish. I’m out here grinding and working everyday to make sure my goals are attained. They are not dreams anymore. Dreams don’t have deadlines. Goals do.

Some people choose marriage and a family. I wouldn’t be able to make the moves I make freely if I’d gone a different route.
I chose MUSIC and MUSIC chose me.

At least until I can have BOTH lbvs…and I WILL by the grace of God!

Leave a Reply

